Mountain West Poetry Series

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Stephanie G'Schwind & Donald Revell, series editors

Launched  in January 2011 with funding from the  National Endowment for the Arts, this series publishes two collections of poetry each year by poets living in the Mountain West region (Idaho,  Montana, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, Colorado, Arizona, and New Mexico). The  series now comprises sixteen published titles. We are currently seeking submissions for our fall 2019 title.

Please do not submit if you do not currently reside in one of the states listed above.

Manuscripts must be at least 60 pages but no more than 100 pages.

Individual poems within the manuscript may be previously published, but the collection as a whole must be unpublished. Self-published books are not eligible for submission.

Submissions will be accepted online only, via Submittable.

Authors receive a $500 advance against royalties and 10 percent royalties on net sales. Mountain West Poetry Series books are distributed nationally by the University Press of Colorado and the Chicago Distribution Center.

Deadline is February 28, 2019. 

This is not a contest, and there is no submission fee.

Manuscripts will not be read blind. You may include, if applicable, acknowledgments noting poems' previous publication.

Poets who enter the 2019 Colorado Prize for Poetry and live in a Mountain West state need not submit, as their manuscripts will automatically be considered for the series.

Questions? Please contact Stephanie G’Schwind at Stephanie(dot)Gschwind(at)colostate(dot)edu.

Mountain West Poetry Series